RCCO Ottawa Centre
CRCO Section d'Ottawa

PO Box 2270 Station D
Ottawa ON K1P 5W4


May 14, 2019


The Godfrey Hewitt Memorial Scholarship, amounting to $5,000, has been awarded for 2019 by the Godfrey Hewitt Memorial Fund to:



Stefani Bedin is a solo and collaborative performer, liturgical musician and teacher, based in her hometown of Toronto. In September 2019, Stefani will begin the Doctor of Musical Arts degree at the University of Toronto, where she recently completed the Master of Music degree in Organ Performance and the Bachelor of Music degree in Music History and Theory (Honours). She studies organ under the tutelage of Dr. Kevin Komisaruk. Stefani also holds an A.R.C.T. in Piano Performance from the Royal Conservatory of Music. She has a keen interest in sacred music and is currently the Assistant Organist of St. Basil’s Catholic Parish at the University of St. Michael’s College. Committed to sharing the pipe organ’s music with diverse audiences, Stefani has given several solo recitals and is also an active executive board member of the RCCO Toronto Centre.

Godfrey Hewitt, C.D., D.Mus. (Cantuar), FRCO, Hon. ARSCM, died in 2002 at the age of ninety-three. For over seventy years a prominent figure in sacred music in Canada, Dr. Hewitt left a very significant legacy to Canadian music. Born in England in 1909, he came to Canada in 1931 after serving as Organist for the Archbishop of Canterbury at Lambeth Palace, London, in 1930. He became Organist and Master of the Choristers at Christ Church Cathedral, Ottawa, in 1931, and remained there for half a century, until his retirement in 1980. In 1973, Dr. Hewitt was awarded the Lambeth Doctorate of Music by the Archbishop of Canterbury; he was made a Member of the Order of Canada in 1976. He was famed as performer, teacher, composer, and organ designer. This scholarship was established after his death both to honour his memory and to increase the number of highly-trained professional Canadian organists, not only to serve as organists in universities, concert halls, and churches, but also to teach future generations of performers and church musicians.

Previous winners of this scholarship were Craig Humber (2005), Isabelle Demers (2006), Michael Unger (2007), Ryan Jackson (2008), Matthieu Latreille (2009), Shawn Potter (2010), Wendy Nieuwenhuis (2011), Stephen Boda (2012), Sarah Svendsen (2013), Julie Pinsonneault (2014), Rachel Mahon (2015), Shane Murphy (2016), David Simon and Nicholas Walters (both in 2018).

The next annual competition for the Godfrey Hewitt Memorial Scholarship in organ will close on April 30, 2020 Details may be found on the web site of the Royal Canadian College of Organists, Ottawa Centre: www.rcco-ottawa.ca

There is also a Godfrey Hewitt Prize of $5,000, awarded as the Grand Prize bi-annually at the National Organ-Playing Competition at the RCCO National Organ Festival; the next Prize will be awarded in July 2019 in Halifax.

Further details may be obtained from:

Frances Macdonnell

E-Mail:Frances Macdonnell

©Copyright MMXIX  RCCO Ottawa Centre
RCCO-Ottawa Centre is a Registered Charity: 11912 6498 RR0001

This page was last updated on: Tuesday, 14-May-2019 16:55:42 EDT